Inchworm Microgreens: From The Home Grow Festival

Ann Arbor FoodFirst off I want to say thanks to everyone who stopped by the Inchworm Microgreens table. I did my best to tempt you with fresh cut pea shoot microgreens and micro cilantro. Marsella pictured here on the left from Project Grow was our first ever customer. She is shown here posing with a two ounce bag of pea shoots.

I also want to thank Jeff McCabe who invited me to present my microgreens at the Home Grown Festival.

This was the first time I sampled my microgreens to anyone other than my family. There were a few surprises. The first was that people did not know how to eat pea shoots.  They asked me if they ate them whole. “Yes. Just like sprouts,” I said. The pleasant surprise was that kids love pea shoots. Some were shy about trying them, but were pleasantly surprised how sweet the pea shoots were. I had a young child circle back with his mom to have her by a bag for himself. I took this as a great sign considering I had competition from plenty of great food venders, especially Sweet Gem Confections my favorite Chocolatier.  Nancy Biehn of Sweet Gem traded a bag of pea shoots for two truffles, a peach and a raspberry.

Ann Arbor Food

FYI, anyone interested in trading microgreens for hand made chocolate or other handcrafted, tasty items, I am game.

I stayed at the table must of the night, but I was able to walk the festival a little. I had a great slice of pizza from Silvios Organic Pizza. It had blueberries and blue cheese. There were other food venders like The Grange Kitchen and Bar.

There was live music and a wine and beer tent. I really enjoyed the set up and thought it would be great if the Saturday Farmer Market had live music, more prepped food venders and a tent set up with chairs and tables for eating.

My favorite picture of the night was the Peeps

Ann Arbor Food

Leave a Reply

