Sauerkraut Making:Fermentation fun at home take three

Ann Arbor FoodThis is my third Sauerkraut Making post. I am not sure in what order you are reading these. If you are new to making kraut and fermenting, I think it is good that you start out with a good picture of mold. The picture on the left is of mold on the top of the liquid in my batch of shiso garlic sauerkraut. In most cases mold is not a friend of healthy, safe to eat food, but with kraut it is fine. I simply skimmed off the mold, cleaned off the plate and set the kraut back to ferment. By no means does surface mold mean your kraut has gone bad.

More mold Pics

Ann Arbor Food

Skimmed off mold

Tasty Kraut that is safe to eat: Needs some more time to ferment

Ann Arbor Food

Ann Arbor FoodOf course not every batch of kraut has mold. This is a picture of my first batch this year. It is a spicy dulse seaweed variation and only fermented 30-35 days. I could let is go longer, but I wanted to use the ceramic crock for a new batch. I started with 5LBs of cabbage which I usually figure will make 1 gallon, 4 quarts of kraut. I ended up with only 2 quarts and one quart of kraut liquid. This was probably because I used a super fresh cabbage that had a lot of moisture.

When making kraut, make sure to save the extra liquid. It can be used to flavor soups, stews, to brine meat or to add to batches of kraut as a starter.

Two Jars of Kraut and One jar Kraut Juice

Ann Arbor Food

Labeling the Jars: I feel this is an important step to keep my batches organized

Ann Arbor Food

Ann Arbor Food

New Batch: Standard Plain Sauerkraut

5lbs of Green Cabbage and 3 tablespoons of salt

Ann Arbor Food

Chopped Cabbage

Ann Arbor Food

 

Don’t forget to chop and include the cores

Ann Arbor Food

My two gallon ceramic crock with 5lbs of chopped cabbage

Ann Arbor Food

Kraut after being smashed up a little: Fills around half way

Ann Arbor Food

Weighing down my kraut with my one gallon ceramic crock on top

Ann Arbor Food

6 responses to “Sauerkraut Making:Fermentation fun at home take three

  1. why would you think mold is ok? traditional fermentation didn’t require skimming off mold – you need an airtight vessel to ferment in…where anaerobic fermentation can take place – that the way it has always been done traditionally…what you are creating is “true” kraut…
    have you ever heard of the pickl-it jars – no mold issues there and the CO2 can release as the lactic acid develops…

    • Lisa,

      Thanks for your comment. I have wanted one of those jars for years. I do agree that no mold is better, but I have found that a little mold on top that is scrapped off is not a problem.

      • Hi Brian,
        Mold scrapped off the top doesn’t actually get rid of it – mold grows by sending out thin tendrils deep into the food. So even if you think you are taking it off – you are still leaving some behind and now be consuming technically rotten food. Why don’t you email the pickl-it folks and mention that Lisa sent you – I bet they would give you a good deal on trying one out – once you have one – you will be wondering why you didn’t get one earlier 🙂
        If you get one – keep me posted on your experience with it.

  2. Mold could be a problem for people who are sensitive to it. I would not ferment without an anerobic vessel of some sort. Personally, I use The Pickl-it system too, and love it. When I buy, I buy from The Cultured Pickle Shop in Berkeley, CA (and I live in Oregon!). They, as well, create their krauts using an anerobic system. I’m sure it’s not just a preference. They too know the science behind fermented foods. Their equipment, I’m sure is very expensive and if they could get the same product using plastic buckets and cheese cloth, why wouldn’t they?

  3. I posted a comment, but did not subscribe. I could not get the subscription going without commenting again!

Leave a Reply

