Pickle Contest: DownTown Home and Garden

Ann Arbor Food

Ann Arbor Food

It was the first Annual Pickle contest at DownTown Home and Garden. I entered the contest with my Spicy Dulse Sauerkraut. I did not win and the top three winners were dill pickles. Like the Jam contest, the most popular, and familiar items per contest like raspberry jam and dill pickles, tend to win. I wanted to win for my offering, but feel that for the most part my offerings were great, but not as popular to win these contests. The positive reactions overheard from the taster of my jam and kraut were reassuring.

One thing I would say is bring something to drink. They did not offer water, or bread with the pickle tasting, and after 30 salty pickles you will need something to drink. I bought some bread. They sell zingerman’s bread and pastry at Downtown Home and Garden.

Leave a Reply

