Weight Loss Rewards

OK. One of the motivators for weight loss is a reward for hitting a target. Rewards can be vacations, new clothes shopping spree etc…

If possible, these rewards should be non-food based.

After all, getting a huge dessert every time I reach a weight loss target might not move my goal/life style forward.

So I have created a reward.

My goal is to be under 200 Lbs by late July.

That gives me almost seven mouths that lose 37.5 pounds, a little over five pounds a month, which sounds reasonable.

Common wisdom is to expect 1/2 to 2 pounds of weight loss a week on a program of moderate eating and exercise.

Last week, I lost 5 pounds, which I do not expect to repeat every week, but it does say that at least 1-2 pounds a week of weight loss is possible.

So, what is my reward for reaching my under 200 Lbs target?

My reward is to attend the Traverse City Film Festival in late July, early August.

The deal is that I will pay myself $10 per pound for every pound I lose ($375), which I figure would be most of the cost of attending the festival.

Why a film festival?

Because I am attending college for film
I am a huge fan of the festival
It is one of the best independent film festival in the US
It is in my own state and it is located in Beautiful Traverse City (Michigan’s Napa Valley)
And..I hope to submit and have a film accepted (long shot..but possible)

And if I do get short film in the festival, it will mean giving a talk  before and after the screening.

2 responses to “Weight Loss Rewards

  1. Sounds like an awesome reward for a great goal !! Good Luck and keep us posted.

  2. Your expectations are on spot – reasonable and doable. You’re doing a great job and progressing steadily in the right direction. You must feel good about yourself and proud that you are sticking with it! Keep on keeping’ on, with a great reward in July!

Leave a Reply

