Juicers: A Farmer and Farmers Market’s Best Friend

Ann Arbor Food

Organic Juice

My little brother has been on a health kick for a few years now. He has lost weight and he has started juicing. Above is a picture he sent of his latest juice concoction.

I have a juicer that I bought for my sugar beet project, but I have as of yet, taken it out for a test drive.

The problem with juicing is the clean up and you really need to put the scraps in the compost right away or you will get flies. With that said the fresh juice is worth it.

My brother makes juice from the standards like carrot, and apple, but he also ventures into the green zone. The juice above probably has some kale, broccoli, or where ever green leaves he found out the farmers market. You name it and he will put it in his juicer.

What hit me when he talked about his juicing is how much vegetables he goes through. Without all of that pesky chewing and fiber, a juice drinker like my brother can drink through pounds of vegetables a day.

My brother joked about when he goes to the farmers market and he asks how much kale the farmer has.

“I’ll take it all,” he’ll  says to a shocked farmer.

Usually he buys them out and actually would buy more to satisfy his juice fix.

When I grew micro greens, I would have juicers ask me about them. I actually discouraged them because they are usually eaten as a garnish and they work best eaten fresh and raw. A bag of my greens or a tray for that matter would not make a lot of juice.

But who was I to say. I walked home with bags of greens at the end the farmers market that a juicer would have loved.

I say bring on the juicers to farmers markets. Let them buy up local veggies by the create full and juice to their health.

It is a win-win for the farmer and juicer.

Calling all Farmer’s Market Managers: “Start offering Juicing Demos at your Markets.”

4 responses to “Juicers: A Farmer and Farmers Market’s Best Friend

  1. Juicing is very expensive because, as you said, you use very little of the pound weight of the product. My husband and his work mate were juicing their lunches at work for a while and our grocery bill went sky high. Check out the video “Fat, Sick and Almost Dead” on Netflix or Amazon Prime. He talks a good game for juicing. I prefer a lifestyle change like http://www.beyonddiet.com

  2. Just a question: isn’t the loss of fiber something to be concerned about?

    • I do not think that juicing should be a substitute for eating lots of fruits and veggies. And as long as you are getting in your fiber with cereal and eating fruits and veggies, a glass of fresh veggie/fruit juice is fine. The thing is, most of us would not be eating say 1 pounds of carrots a day, which is about what is need for an 8 ounce glass of juice.

Leave a Reply

